Ekimalitos or Sweet Cream Ice Cream


sweet cream

One day I went to Michaels Arts and Crafts store and something caught my attention, a pack of pretzel bag. I looked at it and it reminded me of ice cream bags from the corner house back in the Dominican Republic.

One ingredient I like to use in ice cream is Batata or sweet potatoes. I cut the batata into small pieces and let it boil with milk and the rest of the ingredients. Something I always do is leave a few small pieces and pack them along with the liquid so you can bite into it, it’s a sweet surprise for the kids or friends!

Tools you’ll need are the bags, a funnel and a tea infuser (I use the infuser because it is much easier to remove)

Ingredients:1 can of Cream of Coconut1 Can of Evaporated Milk6 cups whole milk1 tablespoon vanilla (for me the best is the concentrated form Dominican Republic but you can use what you have at home or order it at Mimi’s Fusion of Flavors)2 Cinnamon Sticks10 Whole ClovesBlack or Organic Sugar as it is called here- to taste!* You have the control to add more or less sugar.

Whenever you’re preparing something with milk try to keep the temperature between medium low  hehehehe Believe me I know why!
First boil your milk milk with cinnamon and all cloves, when it starts boiling add the evaporated milk and the coconut cream. Bring to a boil, let it simmer for 15 minutes. Now you can add the remaining ingredients and boil for 10 more minutes, remove and let the temperature down to room temperature.
After many mistakes I discovered that using a jar it is the easiest way to pack our home made ice creams or ekimalitos.
Now we should insert the funnel inside the bag to prevent leakage
Warning, do not overdue it, just fill out half of the bag or 3/4 of it it will be much easier to tie the bag
Enjoy!!!!!
One thought on “Ekimalitos or Sweet Cream Ice Cream

Deja tu comentario!

